Close Menu
    What's Hot

    The 41 Best Shows on Netflix Right Now (July 2025)

    July 13, 2025

    U.K. refinery secures crude oil supply deal with Glencore

    July 12, 2025

    Why real estate advisory matters more than ever post SC on property ownership and registration

    July 12, 2025
    Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram
    Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram
    Trend Alerts – Stay Ahead of the Trends!
    Subscribe
    • Home
    • Trending

      The 41 Best Shows on Netflix Right Now (July 2025)

      July 13, 2025

      Timekettle T1 Handheld Translator Review: Global Offline Translation

      July 12, 2025

      The 6 Best Prime Day Action Camera Deals for Thrill Seekers (2025)

      July 12, 2025

      Last-Chance Prime Day Deals, 313 Obsessively Tested Picks—Even $1,200 Off an OLED TV

      July 11, 2025

      The 7 Best Prime Day Action Camera Deals for Thrill Seekers (2025)

      July 11, 2025
    • Worldwide

      U.K. refinery secures crude oil supply deal with Glencore

      July 12, 2025

      Towngas and Royal Vopak to Build Green Methanol Supply Chain Across Asia-Pacific

      July 12, 2025

      Saudi Arabia Raises Oil Prices

      July 11, 2025

      2nd phase of digitising oil supply chain begins

      July 11, 2025

      Oil Markets Are Tighter Than They Look

      July 10, 2025
    • Finance

      Why real estate advisory matters more than ever post SC on property ownership and registration

      July 12, 2025

      HDFC Infinia Metal vs. HDFC Regalia Gold Credit Card

      July 11, 2025

      How to choose your first credit card in 2025

      July 6, 2025

      Here are the documents that proves your homeownership

      July 5, 2025

      Short-term, long-term capital gains tax rates, calculations, exemptions for FY 2024-25

      July 4, 2025
    • Business

      HBS Online Launches New Personal Branding Course

      July 10, 2025

      The Benefits of Asynchronous Online Learning for Your Team

      July 9, 2025

      A Doctor’s HBS Online Journey

      June 28, 2025

      Talent Development Strategies for Business Growth

      June 28, 2025

      What to Know About Upskilling Your Workforce

      June 27, 2025
    • News

      World’s Most Unbelievable Events That No One Expected

      March 16, 2025

      Biggest Space Discoveries That Went Viral This Year

      March 16, 2025

      AI Just Did This! The Most Shocking AI Development Yet

      March 16, 2025

      Mind-Blowing Tech Innovations That Went Viral in 2025

      March 16, 2025

      Top 10 Viral Moments That Broke the Internet in 2025

      March 16, 2025
    Trend Alerts – Stay Ahead of the Trends!
    Home»Business»What It Is & How to Calculate It
    Business

    What It Is & How to Calculate It

    Elon MarkBy Elon MarkMarch 17, 2025No Comments6 Mins Read
    Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Telegram Pinterest Tumblr Reddit WhatsApp Email
    Share
    Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Pinterest Email


    If you’ve ever worked at an early-stage startup, built a new business line at an established company, or launched your own venture, you know how difficult it can be to measure your efforts’ success.

    Entrepreneurs typically monitor key performance indicators, such as revenue, conversion, or adoption, to gauge effectiveness. But perhaps the most common metric for measuring a new venture’s success is what’s known as the LTV/CAC ratio.

    To help you assess your company’s performance more effectively, here’s an overview of LTV/CAC, how to calculate it, and methods for improving it to achieve long-term profitability.


    Free E-Book: Your Guide to Online Learning Success

    Access your free e-book today.

    DOWNLOAD NOW


    What Is LTV/CAC?

    LTV/CAC is the ratio of a company’s customer lifetime value (LTV) to its customer acquisition cost (CAC). To break that down:

    • Customer lifetime value (LTV) is the value a customer delivers to a company over the long term
    • Customer acquisition cost (CAC) refers to the amount a company spends to acquire each new customer

    LTV/CAC is a vital metric for startups. Many are initially unprofitable as they start obtaining initial customers. Yet, by comparing the long-term value those customers deliver to the cost of acquiring them, LTV/CAC can provide a measure of future profits, allowing founders and venture capitalists (VCs) to assess a business’s long-run health.

    Below is a breakdown of each of the ratio’s components: LTV and CAC.

    What Is LTV?

    LTV, or lifetime value, is a metric that measures the value a customer contributes over the time they’re engaged with a company’s offering. It considers not only one-time or short-term sales but the profit contribution of each transaction a customer makes, giving a more accurate assessment of their contributions’ value.

    To calculate your company’s LTV, you must know two things:

    • Customer contribution margin (m): This refers to the revenue generated by an average customer minus the cost to offer the product or service to them for one year
    • Customer lifetime (T): This is the average amount of time, in years, a customer stays with the company

    Use those two metrics to calculate LTV:

    Lifetime Value (LTV) = m * T

    Let’s demonstrate this with a brief example. Imagine you’re a marketer at a small consumer software company operating on a subscription model. You determine that your annual customer contribution margin per customer is $115 and that, on average, your customers subscribe for three years.

    Put those together to calculate LTV:

    LTV = $115 * 3 = $345

    In this example, the customer’s lifetime value is $345. This represents the value the customer delivers to your software company over the time they remain in business with you.

    What Is CAC?

    CAC, or customer acquisition cost, refers to the cost it takes to acquire a new customer. Calculating CAC is straightforward: you need to know how much your business spent on marketing and how many new customers you acquired.

    To calculate CAC, use the following formula:

    Customer Acquisition Cost = Marketing Cost ($) / Number of Customers

    Continuing with our software example, let’s say the company spent $2,000,000 on marketing, generating 16,000 new customers. Using the CAC formula, this would result in the following:

    CAC = $2,000,000 / 16,000 = $125

    This means the company spent $125 to acquire each customer.

    Entrepreneurial Marketing | Explore and execute the art and science of launching something new | Learn More

    How to Calculate LTV/CAC

    Once you’ve determined your LTV and CAC, you can then calculate your LTV/CAC ratio.

    Let’s continue with our example and calculate the LTV/CAC for your software company. Remember that LTV is $345, and CAC is $125. Using the formula, you get:

    LTV/CAC = $345 / $125 = 2.76

    This means that the value a customer delivers to the company is 2.76 times greater than the cost to acquire them.

    What Is a Good LTV/CAC Ratio?

    So, what’s a good LTV/CAC ratio? In most industries, the benchmark for a healthy LTV/CAC ratio is generally considered at least three.

    “A good rule of thumb is that an LTV-to-CAC ratio of three or higher is attractive and indicates a scalable business where you’ll be able to cover your marketing costs, overhead, and still make a profit,” says Harvard Business School Professor Christina Wallace in the online course Entrepreneurial Marketing.

    If your LTV/CAC is less than one, it means you’re losing money because you’re spending more on acquiring customers than you’re receiving from them. If your ratio is in the one to two range, you’re breaking even or only doing slightly better, which may concern investors interested in greater profits.

    How to Improve Your LTV/CAC

    “A high ratio implies attractive economics because your essential profit formula is a success, while a low ratio implies you may need to adjust your business model—perhaps your customer value proposition, your go-to-market methods, or your pricing—and run more experiments to improve your profit formula,” Wallace says in Entrepreneurial Marketing.

    Experiments to improve your LTV/CAC ratio should focus either on increasing your LTV, decreasing your CAC, or both. The key to increasing your LTV is to focus on improving two of your offering’s components:

    • Customer profitability
    • Customer satisfaction

    Customer profitability is the value you derive from customers. You can improve this by charging higher prices or reducing the cost of delivering your product or service. However, you must balance this against customer satisfaction—the value you provide users. Maximizing both results in loyal customers who are satisfied with your offering and deliver long-term profits.

    There are also several methods for decreasing your CAC. Because it consists of the costs and overhead to acquire customers, reducing those are key. Make sure you’ve chosen the most effective media channels that meet your customers where they are with a message that clearly communicates your value proposition.

    Related: What Is a Brand Story? The Importance & 5 Compelling Examples

    Your Guide to Online Learning Success | Download Your Free E-Book

    Leveraging LTV/CAC to Measure Your Company’s Success

    Your brand’s LTV/CAC ratio is a key metric for measuring its success. Once you’ve determined it, you must decide what to do with the information and develop strategies for improving it.

    To dive deeper into LTV/CAC, its nuances, and how to improve it using limited resources, consider taking an online course like Entrepreneurial Marketing. In it, you’ll immerse yourself in interactive exercises and real-world examples to develop a proven toolkit for identifying, influencing, and acquiring customers.

    Are you interested in developing the entrepreneurial mindset and toolkit to create a viable, scalable business? Explore Entrepreneurial Marketing—one of our online marketing courses—and download our interactive online learning success guide to discover the benefits of our programs and how to prepare for one.



    Source link

    Calculate
    Share. Facebook Twitter Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr Telegram Email
    Previous ArticleThe Best RAM for Your PC (2025)
    Next Article Fear of Trump’s Tariffs Ripples Through France’s Champagne Region
    Elon Mark
    • Website

    Related Posts

    HBS Online Launches New Personal Branding Course

    July 10, 2025

    The Benefits of Asynchronous Online Learning for Your Team

    July 9, 2025

    A Doctor’s HBS Online Journey

    June 28, 2025
    Add A Comment
    Leave A Reply Cancel Reply

    Top Posts

    10 Trends From Year 2020 That Predict Business Apps Popularity

    January 20, 2021

    Shipping Lines Continue to Increase Fees, Firms Face More Difficulties

    January 15, 2021

    Qatar Airways Helps Bring Tens of Thousands of Seafarers

    January 15, 2021

    Subscribe to Updates

    Get the latest sports news from SportsSite about soccer, football and tennis.

    Advertisement
    Demo

    TrendAlerts is your go-to platform for the latest trending news, covering global events, technology, business, entertainment, and more. Stay informed with real-time updates and in-depth analysis on what’s shaping the world today! 🚀

    We're social. Connect with us:

    Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram Pinterest YouTube
    Top Insights

    Top UK Stocks to Watch: Capita Shares Rise as it Unveils

    January 15, 2021
    8.5

    Digital Euro Might Suck Away 8% of Banks’ Deposits

    January 12, 2021

    Oil Gains on OPEC Outlook That U.S. Growth Will Slow

    January 11, 2021
    Get Informed

    Subscribe to Updates

    Get the latest creative news from FooBar about art, design and business.

    © 2025 Trend Alerts. All Rights Are Reserved.
    • Home
    • Trending
    • Worldwide
    • Finance
    • Business
    • News

    Type above and press Enter to search. Press Esc to cancel.